arizona archery

arizona record book

record book

big game animals



arizona state records

big game measurers

big game hunting


arizona speciesminimum scores




Recognizing the need to honor a bowhunter who has gone beyond the element of luck, which is present to some extent in every hunt, the Committee established the Cochise Award.  This award will recognize the bowhunter who has become skillful in hunting a variety of species and who collected seven of the sixteen animals eligible for the program, as outlined in the By-Laws.  Only two species, as of July 1, 1985, may be from the small game predator category.  One of the seven approved animals must be a big game animal that meets or exceeds the minimum score for that species.


Arizona residents are fortunate to have many different animals to hunt, many of which are among the best in the nation.  Some of the Arizona species pursued by bowhunters cannot be measured using the official scoring system of the Boone & Crocket Club; yet, these animals are also trophies to most bowhunters.  Therefore, the Committee included the small game predators; bobcat, coyote and fox in the Cochise Award program.  We believe that a bowhunter who has acquired the skill and knowledge, and who has spent the time and effort to collect many different species, deserves to be recognized.


We chose the name, Cochise, out of respect for our bowhunting ancestors, the early residents of our state.  Cochise, a famous Chief, was respected for his fierce courage and determination.  Certainly the bowhunter who receives this award, must also have the same determination!






A hunter must apply for the Cochise & Kaibab Awards once he/she feels that they have achieved the exacting criteria for each award.





The Kaibab Award was created so that even the very accomplished and experienced hunters could have an "ultimate goal" to pursue.  Originally the committee thought that one entry for each of the fourteen (at that time) species should be required.  However because three of those (Bison, Desert Bighorn Sheep, and Rocky Mountain Bighorn Sheep) are high profile with lower drawing odds, the requirement was dropped to eleven of the species, with seven meeting the minimum requirements for acceptance to the listings.  This is a lofty goal, but achievable!



Once a bowhunter accepts the challenge to be selective in his hunt, to pass up the first animal that comes within range of his arrow, he naturally limits his goal to one of the big ones.  The monarchs of Arizona are deserving of extra respect!  The kings of the forest and desert acquired their thrones through more acute senses, healthier genetic background, a stronger drive for survival, and the instinct to avoid their predators.  It is out of respect for the magnificent animals of our state, the committee established an award to honor these truly outstanding animals.  Our task became one of selecting an appropriate name  for this  award that was worthy enough to honor the monarchs.


In the mountains north of Yuma during the late 1800's, a lucrative gold mine called the King of Arizona Mine, flourished.  This mine adopted a brand to stamp its equipment, "K of A".  Soon the post office and surrounding community was referred to as K of A, which eventually was shortened to Kofa.  The Kings of Arizona, or the Kofa award, is indeed an appropriate name for the award patterned after the Ishi award of the Pope and Young Club.  It is our desire  that the Kofa Award  becomes the most coveted award an Arizona bowhunter can receive!


The BIA Record Book Committee will determine if this award will be presented to a

successful hunter who has harvested an animal of truly exceptional qualities.



The Committee believes that any animal collected with a bow is deserving of recognition and is considered by the bowhunter as a "trophy"!  Maybe not a record book animal, but a trophy nevertheless.  Therefore, a Wildlife Trophy Award  Certificate will be issued for every application that is approved by the Committee.  A "trophy" which does not meet the minimum score will still qualify as a species for the Cochise Award program, but it will not be listed in the records section.  All bowhunters can proudly display their Wildlife Trophy Certificate  as a momento of their hunting experience!



The Committee established this award to recognize the best trophies taken during a subsequent two year period.  The Biennial Award  will be given to the three largest trophies of each species (including non-typical categories) taken and entered into the program.


A "biennial" period begins on July 1 and ends two years later on June 30.  The first period for this award was July 1, 1975 through June 30, 1977.  Trophy's may only compete for a Biennial award for the biennial (two year) period in which they were taken.  To be considered for an award, the trophy must be entered into the program prior to the time that BIA orders the awards and presents them to the winners, which is normally the end of the calendar year following the periods end date.



The Committee felt that the various state record animals needed recognition in the form of a special award.  Consequently a plaque was designed using the animal drawings that are also used on the Cochise Award on a simple black background.  The name of the hunter, the score, and the date of harvest are shown as well.  These awards are presented only when a new state record is established so they are rare indeed, as Arizona State Records are truly outstanding trophies that in many cases, are also World Record animals!

Bowhunting in Arizona Record Book Committee Inc. Copyrighted © All rights reserved. 2023 Webmaster: AJ Murosky